About the Awards Banquet

Each year, in conjunction with the Symposium, Alberta's Community Adult Learning Program celebrates the achievements and accomplishments of its dedicated practitioners, staff and volunteers.

Awards presented include:

Community Learning Network's
Outstanding Contribution to Community Adult Learning Award

As part of our commitment to community-based adult learning and literacy in Alberta, Community Learning Network (CLN) recognizes the exceptional individuals or organizations who have made an outstanding contribution to the field over the past year (July 2017 to June 2018). Nominees must be CALP organizations, employees or board members, and be a CLN member in good standing.

Do you know who has…

  • Shown leadership in the adult learning field?
  • Inspired their CALP or community to advance lifelong learning?
  • Increased capacity in their organization and/or community to better meet the foundational learning needs of adult Albertans?

Watch for the 2018 nomination package coming soon!

Centre for Family Literacy's
Ruth Hayden Family Literacy Practitioner Award

The late Dr. Ruth Hayden was an influential leader in the areas of emergent and family literacy in Alberta. Ruth worked tirelessly to advance the field of family literacy in Alberta and beyond. The Ruth Hayden Family Literacy Practitioner Award will be presented to an individual who has excelled in the field of family literacy, maintained a high quality of service to participants in their programs and the community, and shown a commitment to their own learning.

For the link to more information, please CLICK HERE.

Council of the Federation Literacy Award

The Council of Federation Literacy Award was created in 2004 by Canada’s Premiers to recognize literacy achievements in every province and territory. This award acknowledges the importance of literacy as a major factor in Canadians’ ability to participate as full and active citizens in all areas of society. The award publicly recognizes leaders in the field of literacy and rewards remarkable achievement.

For the link to more information, please CLICK HERE. Nominations close May 18, 2018.